PDA

View Full Version : Open door warning light stays on

Previllac
06-04-2013, 08:51 PM
Hi, I just bought a 1995 Toyota Previa. When I got the van, the dome light, clock, radio did not work so I found the fuse box and the fuse for these things was missing. I put in the fuse and everything started working. Now the "open door" warning light stays on even though the doors are tightly closed. Maybe that is why the previous owner removed this fuse since it also controls the "open door" warning light. How can i fix this?

Excuse my ignorance, but I have limited knowledge of Previas. How do you know if the Previa is a supercharger? My Previa has SC on the tailgate..does this mean anything?

Thank you for your help.

timsrv
06-05-2013, 04:19 AM
You have a sensor on each door. The front doors (especially the driver's side) see the most use so these are usually the 1st to go. The sensor is just a momentary switch but after a few thousand cycles they can fail. Usually they fail by not telling you when the doors are open, but they can fail the other way too. You should be able to tell which one is acting up by opening each door (one at a time) and pushing on this switch. If you find one that wont move, then you've found the bad one. If you find one that makes the dash light go out when you push with your finger, but not when the door is closed, then the switch is either damaged or the door is not pushing on it hard enough. Here's a picture of one on the driver's door

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a23/timsrv/TVT%20pics/Previa%20Body/IMG_2733_zps17588838.jpg

The SC on your tail gate typically means you have a super charger. It could also mean some previous owner replaced the rear hatch with one from a super charged Previa. Could also mean somebody just put the emblem there. I'm guessing you have the super charger :brnout: :thmbup:. Tim

Previllac
06-05-2013, 07:43 PM