PDA

View Full Version : Hello! I'm Noel, and I have compression issues.

Noel
04-30-2015, 05:12 AM
Hey everyone! I can't tell you how helpful it's been to discover this forum. Now I know I'm not the only one who is pleased to see three Previas on the road in a single day. :thmbup:

I've been the proud owner of a 1993 LE 2WD for three years now. Aside from a new SADS a few years ago, its been a great work van. I am constantly amazed at what I can fit in it, and proud when I see other trucks and vans that cost far more, carry far less. I replaced the SADS, and consider myself handy, but inexperienced. I'm a carpenter and houses are far less complicated than cars.

I've had some time on my hands so I figured I'd give the blue beast the attention it deserved. I have a long laundry list of to-dos and at the top of that is making sure the drivetrain is going to get me to 300k. I'm at 278*** now and barring a heart attack, i think it will make it.

In Park it idles a bit rough and I can't tell if it is because my rebuilt SADS is bent/unbalanced, or if it's the engine. I tried the pipe clamp trick and it helped a little, but not enough. In gear this shimmy goes away and runs smooth (aside from a whistle at idle and a high pitched whirr under load). Again, my main goal is to get the engine tuned and head off any disasters.

I did a compression check today and I came up with 180/155/170/80. After adding some oil to 1 and 3, it measured 180/160/170/135. The numbers are scattered and they don't look good. It just got new plugs, cap and rotor, and will get wires tomorrow. However, after looking at the compression, it seems I have much bigger problems.

I'm curious to hear if its as bad as I think (or not) and if anyone might have some suggestions as a next step. It also sounds like there is gravel in the starter, it needs a new steering rack, and the A/C spins but doesn't get cold. Short of an engine rebuild, is this a project, or a parts vehicle for my next Previa?

cvtroger