PDA

View Full Version : Code 9'er. -vehicle speed sensor

djshimon
09-17-2011, 06:36 PM
So this used engine off ebay with supposedly <120,000 miles is now giving me some troubles...
One of them is a bad bearing sound(light squeeling) on cold startup, until warm. I've taken off all the belts on startup and still get the same sound, leading me to think maybe engine bearing-but i'm no professional mechanic.
It died a couple times while driving and threw the code 9'er. Code 9'er is the Vehicle Speed Sensor-What is the vehicle speed sensor? My van is manual so I thought those were for automatics? (this used engine came from an auto though). The manual does not say what to check for if there's a problem with the vehicle speed sensor.

I also feel I have a bad headgasket: During the warm month we just had I had some coolant overflow from the overflow tank when on an hour drive. going to do a leak-down test soonish.

mostly concerned about the code 9'er though,
thanks, aaron.

djshimon
09-17-2011, 10:22 PM
Ok, the speed sensor relays information(speed, i would guess) to the computer, and various systems in the car...
well since my speedometer is not functioning at the moment, and the code 9'er for the speed sensor is showing, i think i figured something out.
now to find the place it is broken-hopefully it's in the sensor! i found them for 71.60$ at 1sttoyotaparts.
although it could be broken in another location i suppose...update to follow
-aaron

Van_L
04-20-2012, 04:48 PM
Did you ever find the speed sensor? I'm in the process of looking for mine, and I've looked through the wiring diagrams and service manual for this van. I've found references to it, but nothing to hint at its physical location on the van. I know it's connected to at least the ECU and the cruise control, but I was hoping to not have to chase wires. There must be an easier way to get to it.

djshimon
04-20-2012, 05:07 PM
What's your symptoms?