• How I lifted my Previa

I did some searching for a pre-fabbed lift kit, but could find nothing for the Previa. Since I have some experience as a tool maker and fabricator, I decided to build my own. Since the tire size is limited by the front struts, I decided that 2" would be about right for this project. Here are some pictures and details:

I decided it would be easier to modify existing strut mounts than to build something from scratch, so I went to http://www.rockauto.com and found one their famous "close-out" sales on Previa strut mounts. I ordered 4 of these for only about $20 each. Here's what I got.

The idea is to stack the strut mounts and weld them together. If this is going to work, then this bearing must be removed from the top mount (I'll need enough room to get a socket and extension down in there to install the strut mounting nut). This bearing is pressed in and also has a metal lip crimped in over the edge of it.

Here is my answer to getting rid of that crimped metal that's holding the bearing in place.

Here's what's left after 5 minutes with a die grinder.

Now bearing can be driven out of mount.

Okay, bearing's gone. That's it for the top mount.

Lower mount doesn't need these 3 studs, so using a socket and a vise I press them out.

Okay, that's it for the lower mount.

Now it's time to do some shopping at the steel yard. I take the mounts with me and snoop around in the scrap pile. I find the perfect diameter and wall thickness, and have the metal guy cut me 2 pieces, each one 1 7/8" long.

Burs are removed from the tubing and I use a wire wheel to remove paint from the places I want to weld on the strut mounts. Mounts are stacked together with metal tubing then clamped for welding. I use a hammer to gently tap parts into perfect alignment. Here we are ready to weld.

Here's where the Tim's RV welding van comes in handy!