Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sudden Loss of Fuel Economy??

Van Fan
    My Van(s):
    1986 2WD Toyota Van LE - "donkey" 1989 4WD Toyota Van LE

Sudden Loss of Fuel Economy??

Hey folks - aside from the obvious possibility of fuel leaking from a bad hose/pipe, what would cause a sudden and drastic decline in fuel economy? My '89 van went from 20/22 to about 12 miles per gallon in a matter of a couple of weeks. I don't smell any gas with the engine compartment open, when it's hot or cold, or when I'm driving it.

Your thoughts are appreciated!
    Kestrel

My Van(s):
    1987 4WD Automatic

Re: Sudden Loss of Fuel Economy??

A bad O2 sensor will do that.
    Your van being an '89... I think you have 2 (two) O2 sensors.
    Also, a bad fan clutch will affect fuel economy, as it will reduce horsepower if it's engaged all the time.
    "You came in that thing?... You're braver than I thought!" - Princess Leia

Van Fan
    My Van(s):

thanks, trestlehed! i'm not a mechanic, so forgive my ignorance if this is an obvious question...but wouldn't the O2 sensor have other symptoms that are pretty noticeable? i'm not having any symptoms besides bad fuel economy.

My Van(s):
    1987 4WD Automatic

Well, I'm no mechanic either. I'm just passing on my experience of having lot's of different vehicles over the years.
    A bad O2 sensor will cause your air/fuel mixture to run rich, as in too much fuel trying to combust. This causes the engine to pass unburnt fuel into the exhaust system which can cause another problem besides poor fuel economy: the unburnt fuel will cause your catalytic converter to get gunked-up faster than it should. And catalytic converters ain't cheap!

Maybe Tim can chime in here and correct me and/or add other ideas about your symptoms.
    Good luck!
    "You came in that thing?... You're braver than I thought!" - Princess Leia

My Van(s):
    Lots of them