Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installing a New Brake Master Cylinder

Van Fan
    My Van(s):

Installing a New Brake Master Cylinder

Let me start by saying that I'm no expert and learned how to do this by reading through this website and a few others. I didn't follow the directions in the shop manual either but still managed to get it to work. That being said, I thought that my experience in changing the Master Cylinder could be helpful for someone who has never done it before.

I bought a new cylinder here: http://www.autobrakecenter.com/13044...0-p-23534.html
    I paid $46 with shipping and it came in two days

Name:  2013-11-17 11.33.43.jpg
Views: 5386
Size:  98.9 KB

1. Remove the dashboard. Instructions here: http://www.toyotavantech.com/forum/s...hboard+removal

Name:  2013-11-06 17.00.42.jpg
Views: 5328
Size:  95.4 KB

Name:  2013-11-06 17.04.14.jpg
Views: 5174
Size:  90.7 KB

Name:  2013-11-06 17.06.48.jpg
Views: 5780
Size:  94.2 KB

2. Remove "Air Duct #3. There are 2 screws holing it in, one on the far right side and one in the middle.
    Name:  screenshot_39.jpg
Views: 5386
Size:  40.9 KB

3. Remove "Air Duct #2" and then "Air Duct #1". There is one screw holding each in. You can leave "Air Duct #1" in the dash, don't worry about pulling it all of the way out.

4. Remove both of the metal brake tubes an open ended wrench
    Name:  screenshot_40.jpg
Views: 4937
Size:  29.3 KB

5. remove all 4 nuts that hold the brake mast cylinder on as well as the "Vacuum Check Valve Bracket" (thin metal piece with small and large hole in it around top right bolt.)

6. Remove both of the bolts from the top of the brake fluid reservoir.

7. At this point you can suck the brake fluid out of the reservoir with a syringe to make less of a mess, but I just used a large tupperware to catch and spilled fluid.

8. Pull out the master cylinder with the fluid reservoir still attached by the two tubes.