Thread: automatic transmission making clicking sound; torque converter

Forum Newbie
    My Van(s):
    84 Toyota van wagon

automatic transmission making clicking sound; torque converter

Hello tvt I'm new here and to this amazing van I got my hands on!!
    I bought it with transmission problems but everything around it seems in great condition.
    Now the transmission does not engage in any gear and I hear a clicking clanking sound where the torque
    Converter is. I'm sure its shot but would the kickdown cable being frayed also not make it engage in gear or is that just to change gears while driving? I have another transmission in the back that it came with that has an excellent kick down cable. Is it an easy swap or am I going to have to drop the pan? Also am I wasting my time changing the torque converter I am new to auto transmissions any help would be appreciated before I buy parts for this beauty.

Thank you
    Charles

My Van(s):
    Lots of them

Re: transmission making clicking sound

Hi & welcome TVT! If it's clanking in the torque converter area, the very 1st thing I'd do is pull off the little cover that gives access to the flex plate/torque converter bolts and make sure the torque converter is still bolted to the flex plate. I would also want to have somebody crank the engine while I was looking at the flex plate to insure it's spinning with the engine. If this stuff checks out, then I'd pull the transmission pan & inspect it for metal shavings and or clutch debris. What I'd do next would depend on what I found. I'm guessing pulling the transmission and rebuilding or replacing would likely be in order.

The kick-down cable being frayed would make it stick in the kick-down position. With it stuck there the transmission would have high rpm shift points, but it would still move the van. If the extra transmission is reported to be good, I might just swap them out (the entire transmissions) and see what happens. Good luck. Tim