Thread: Rough idle until vacuum leak is introduced...??? Bad fuel mileage/power loss?

Forum Newbie
    My Van(s):

Question Rough idle until vacuum leak is introduced...??? Bad fuel mileage/power loss?

I have an Aussie YM35RV-MRSBEQ, that appears to have a 2Y engine (the engine number is 2Y then numbers, I was told if it was a 2YC then the engine number would start with that?). Last non-ECU car was an 81 subaru, so I'm very new to this whole 'vacuum hoses running amuck' situation.

On cold start, she runs very rough. No stalls yet, but rough as hell. When I bought it it had a loose hose that I plugged back in, so I figured "hey maybe the owner did that on purpose". Popped it off and it idled fine. Put the hose back on and... it idled fine. Weird. Started again, rough idle. Popped off the hose, good idle. Back on, good idle. No idea what's going on there.

She also had a run-on issue once, and was thirsty as heck for fuel, and blew white smoke at idle intermittently, and sometimes would climb RPM when left to idle after a cold start... So I popped off the EGR valve and yep, pretty sticky. Not sure if it was stuck open or closed, but I filled it with oven cleaner twice, left for 30 mins each soak, blasted out with water and chased the water off with alcohol. Still a bit sticky for my liking but fleabay doesn't seem to stock '88 EGRs for some reason. Anyhow I let the alcohol flash off then popped the EGR back on.