Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Replacing a Previa head gasket.

My Van(s):
    Lots of them

Replacing a Previa head gasket.

This is a copy/paste of a thread I posted on TVP a few years ago. Enjoy .

Okay, so you've got a Toyota Previa with a blown head gasket. No big deal, right? Head gaskets aren't that bad, right? Well, that's what I thought too. I used to work as a flat rate mechanic for Toyota and if I can do a 22R head gasket in under 2 hrs, then I could certainly do a 2TZ head gasket in under 6, right? Wrong!

It wasn't unit I removed this access panel that I realized it's not going to be so easy. As you can see by this picture, it could almost be possible. Yeah, the access hole would need a little enlarging on the back side, but what about the intake manifold? This thing is huge and spans across the entire top of the engine. Just how the heck is this coming off? Plasma cutter? Well, I'm not that brave, so Darn it, I had to settle for option #2 (pulling the engine). My original goal was to do the job in under 6 hrs. Well forget that. After 8 hrs, here's what I was able to do.

I got to finally use my Harbor Freight extra large jack stands on the tallest setting!

The next few pix are taken after dropping the engine out from the bottom using a floor jack and a makeshift 2x10 wood support. The engine was cleaned with solvent and then pressure washed.

Although a pain to work on, I couldn't help be impressed by the design of this power train. Look at how thin this thing is.

I had hoped to keep it simple and leave the cams installed. Unfortunately they block access to the head bolts and must be removed before taking off the head.