Thread: Replace Coolant Overflow Hose

Forum Newbie
    My Van(s):
    Shiro Tanuki - silver '85 LE 2wd automatic

Replace Coolant Overflow Hose

Hello! TVT has been a bible to me since I got my van last May, but this is my first time posting. As somebody with very minimal practical auto-repair experience, I definitely didn't know what I was getting myself into when I bought the van. I've spent a small fortune bringing it to shops every time something goes wrong, and now that I'm totally broke because of this, it's time for me to figure out how to do the repairs for myself . Luckily, I have a fairly good diagnostic sense, even if it isn't backed up by much experience. And this seem like a pretty simple fix.

We've got an '85 2wd LE. A few days ago, we overheated on the tail end of a pretty long trip. After it cooled down, I realized that even though the overflow tank was totally full, the radiator neck was dry (!) Also, the hose connecting the overflow to the neck had some obvious seepage. I filled up at the radiator neck, replaced the cap there (just for good measure... it was cheap) and everything has been normal on the short test drives I've taken. I'm thinking that I'd like to replace that hose from the overflow to the rad neck and see if that helps. But the diagrams that I've seen posted here aren't super clear to me about what hose I need.

I'm posting a couple of pics of my hose, I don't really understand what the use is of the overlapping bits. Do I need this exact hose again, or could I get bulk hose?

Thanks for your input, it really seems like a simple question and I searched the forum a ton for some insight, but still feel a little clueless.

Name:  IMG_7976.jpg
Views: 648
Size:  91.3 KB
    Name:  IMG_7977.jpg
Views: 587
Size:  85.8 KB
    Name:  IMG_7978.jpg
Views: 645
Size:  92.7 KB

My Van(s):
    1985 5-sp cargo (Trustyvan) . . . . 1989 5-sp 4WD DLX (Skylervan)

Re: Replace Coolant Overflow Hose

Hi and welcome to TVT!